[ASC-media] Media release - Science Academy elects 16 new members

Australian Academy of Science scied at science.org.au
Thu Mar 27 15:41:09 EST 2003

Australian Academy of Science
27 March 2003


Sixteen of Australia's leading scientists were honoured on 27 March by election to the Australian Academy of Science.

The sixteen new Fellows will join the 338 Fellows of the Academy.  Each year, the Academy elects sixteen new Fellows, with election to Fellowship recognising a career that has significantly advanced the world's scientific knowledge.

The new Fellows are:

Professor Perry Bartlett FAA
Professor, Physiology and Pharmacology, School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Queensland
Telephone:  07 3346 9562
Email: p.bartlett at uq.edu.au
Field: Molecular neuroscience: Stem cell research and the brain's capacity for repair and plasticity.

Professor Robert Bilger FAA FTSE
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, School of Aerospace Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering, University of Sydney
Telephone: 02 9351 2928
Email: bilger at aeromech.usyd.edu.au
Website: http://www.aeromech.usyd.edu.au/people/bilger.html
Field: Mechanical engineering: Turbulent reacting flows, pollutant formation, greenhouse gas mitigation, energy and environmental engineering.

Professor Rossiter Crozier FAA
Professor (Personal Chair), School of Tropical Biology, James Cook University
Telephone: 07 4781 5734
Email: ross.crozier at jcu.edu.au
Website: http://www.jcu.edu.au/school/tbiol/zoology/staff/crozier.htm
Field: Tropical biology:  Evolutionary biologist with specific interest in molecular evolution, molecular phylogeny of insects, birds and mammals and sociobiology.

Professor Peter Drummond FAA FAIP
Professor of Theoretical Physics, University of Queensland
Telephone: 07 3365 3404
Email: drummond at physics.uq.edu.au
Website: http://www.maths.uq.edu.au/~cmpworkshop/
Field: Physics: Quantum theory, theory of solitons, computational physics, physics of communication and information, laser physics.

Professor David Groves FAA
Professor (Personal Chair) of Geology and Director, Centre for Global Metallogeny, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Western Australia
Telephone: 08 9380 2773; 08 9380 1241
Email: dgroves at geol.uwa.edu.au
Website: www.cgm.uwa.edu.au/staff/dgroves/index.asp
Field: Solid Earth sciences: Temporal and tectonic evolution of mineral deposits, with emphasis on orogenic gold deposits, tectonic evolution and metallogeny of Precambrian granitoid-greenstone belts, mineral resource assessment using databases and geographic information systems.

Professor Michael Hynes FAA
Genetics, University of Melbourne
Telephone: (03) 8344 6239 / 5140
Email: mjhynes at unimelb.edu.au
Website: http://www.genetics.unimelb.edu.au/hdlab/
Field: Fungal genetics: eukaryotic gene regulation by the study of catabolic pathways in filamentous fungi.

Professor Frederick Mendelsohn FAA FRACP
Director, Howard Florey Institute of Experimental Physiology and Medicine
Telephone: 03 8344 7333
Email: f.mendelsohn at hfi.unimelb.edu.au
Field: Experimental physiology: Investigation of the brain angiotensin system.

Professor Maria Orlowska FAA
Professor of Information Systems, Head of Information Systems Division and Deputy Head, School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, University of Queensland
Telephone: 07 3365 2989
Email: maria at itee.uq.edu.au
Website: http://www.itee.uq.edu.au/people/_staffResults.php?id=maria
Field: Information Systems: Workflow technology, e-business collaboration, business process modelling and verification, high performance OLTP systems, transaction processing and distributed/integrated databases.

Professor Hyam Rubinstein FAA
Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Melbourne
Telephone: 03 8344 5550
Email: joachim at unimelb.edu.au
Website: http://www.ms.unimelb.edu.au/~rubin
Field: Theoretical maths: Low dimensional topology, minimal surfaces (combinatorial and smooth), shortest network design.

Professor Richard Shine FAA
Professor in Evolutionary Biology (Personal Chair), University of Sydney
Telephone: 02 9351 3772
Email: rics at bio.usyd.edu.au
Website: http://www.bio.usyd.edu.au/SOBS/ADMIN/STAFF/shine.htm  
Field: Evolutionary biology: Interface between evolution and ecology, reptilian ecology and evolution, population ecology and reproductive biology.

Dr Andreas Strasser FAA
Principal Research Fellow, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
Telephone: (03) 9345 2624
Email: strasser at wehi.edu.au 
Field: Immunology: Apoptosis, the cell death program essential for development and homeostasis.

Professor Stephen Tyerman FAA
Professor and Head of Discipline of Viticulture, Department of Horticulture, Viticulture and Oenology, University of Adelaide
Telephone: 08 8303 6663
Email: stephen.tyerman at adelaide.edu.au
Field: Plant biology:Plant membrane transport.

Dr David Vaux FAA
Principal Research Fellow, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
Telephone: 03 9345 2544
Email: vaux at wehi.edu.au
Field: Molecular immunology: Cellular  apoptotic regulators.
Professor Mark von Itzstein FAA
Professor and Director, Centre for Biomolecular Science and Drug Discovery, Griffith University
Telephone: 07 5552 7025
Email: M.vonItzstein at griffith.edu.au
Website: http://www.gu.edu.au/centre/cbsdd/staff/mvonitzstein.html
Field: Biomolecular science: Biology and chemistry of carbohydrates, rational drug design, enzymes in organic synthesis, enzymes mechanisms, new synthetic methods, organic synthesis, biochemistry of carbohydrate recognising proteins.

Dr Stanley Wild FAA
Senior Fellow, Research School of Chemistry, Australian National University
Telephone: 02 6125 4236
Email: bruce.wild at anu.edu.au
Website: http://rsc.anu.edu.au/RSC/ChemResearch/Chemists/wild.html
Field: Inorganic chemistry: The design and synthesis of chiral phosphines and arsines for use as auxiliaries for asymmetric synthesis and as probes of inorganic stereochemistry.

Professor James Williams FAA FTSE FAIP
Professor and Director, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering, Australian National University
Telephone: 02 6125 2476
Email: director.RSPSE at anu.edu.au
Field: Materials engineering: Semiconductors, use of ion-beam methods to characterise and modify materials.

For interview:   Dr W J Peacock, AC FAA FRS FTSE
	 	President, Australian Academy of Science
		02 6246 5250

For information: S. W. Serjeantson 0418622743

The Australian Academy of Science is a private organisation comprising Australia's leading research scientists.  It recognises research excellence, advises government, sponsors scientific conferences, publishes scientific books and journals, conducts international relations and fosters science education and public awareness of science and technology.

More information about the ASC-media mailing list