[ASC-media] Media Release: 2003 Australasian Science Prize Awarded Wednesday

Australasian Science science at control.com.au
Tue Nov 4 01:24:27 EST 2003

4 November 2003

2003 Australasian Science Prize to be Announced Noon, Wednesday 5 November

Venue: University of NSW Council Chamber, via Gate 9, High Street,
Kensington, where details will be provided. The winner will be available for
interview and photography and in his laboratory.

Reporters are invited to attend the announcement and presentation of the
2003 Australasian Science Prize at noon, Wednesday 5 November at the
University of NSW.

The Australasian Science Prize is awarded annually by Australasia's sole
monthly science magazine for outstanding achievement in research by an
individual or small team of scientists.

Criteria taken into account are scientific originality, breadth and depth of
impact, communication to wider audiences, topicality (nominees provide
recent papers for assessment) and unique "news" that has not already been
recognised with a prize.

Now in its fourth year, the Prize has reflected a wide range of science.
This year, another different field is rewarded.

The National Health & Medical Research Council and the Australian Research
Council have supported the winner's research continuously over nearly 20
years, totalling $2.8 million since 1989.

One colleague describes the winner as "Australia's most distinguished
scientist in his field. Few, if any, laboratories can match the precision of
his research".

His findings are recognised internationally for having overturned theories
that had been widely held. Colleagues say that his results provide a new
understanding of benefit to humankind.

Senior UNSW academics will speak of the winner's achievements at the short

(University of Tasmania) for ecological research into population declines of
southern elephant seals.

2001    Prof Mandyam Srinivasan, Dr Shaowu Zhang & Dr Javaan Chahl
(Australian National University) for extending knowledge of the behaviour
and intelligence of bees to artificial intelligence.

2000    Dr Charlie Veron & Dr Mary Stafford-Smith (Australian Institute of
Marine Science) for the world's first comprehensive taxanomic record of all
coral species known to science.

CONTACTS Melbourne: Editor/Publisher, Guy Nolch, (03) 9500 0015. Sydney:
Senior Correspondent, Dr Peter Pockley, (02) 9660 6363 (presenting the
Prize) University of NSW: Media Liaison, Judy Brookman, (02) 9385 3249;
(0421) 061 251.

More information about the ASC-media mailing list