[ASC-media] Eureka Prizes 2004 - media alert

Niall Byrne niall at scienceinpublic.com
Mon Aug 9 17:10:26 EST 2004

Eureka winners from Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia, South Australia,
Queensland, the ACT and NSW

Prizes presented Tuesday evening at gala dinner in Sydney

Embargoed information available today

$220,000 will be shared by 22 winners in the 2004 Australian Museum Eureka
Prizes, Australia's premier science awards, to be announced at a gala dinner
in Sydney's celebrated Hordern Pavilion on Tuesday 10 August.

Among the leaders of government, science, industry and the media in
attendance will be:
NSW Governor HE Marie Bashir, federal Science Minister Peter McGauran,
Democrats science and biotechnology spokesperson Natasha Stott Despoja, NSW
Minister for the Environment Bob Debus, NSW Minister for Science and Medical
Research Frank Sator, and Sydney Lord Mayor Clover Moore.

Comperes Jennifer Byrne and Adam Spencer will preside over the evening. 

Prizes will be awarded for 

.	Industry and innovation
.	Research
.	Education - to teachers and school students
.	Science communication

For embargoed information about the 2004 awards including access to the 2004
embargo website please contact Karen Eck, (0438) 532 569, email
eurekamedia at austmus.gov.au


Niall Byrne

Science Communication Consultant
Science in Public
PO Box 199 Drysdale 3222 Australia
(185 Scotchmans Road Portarlington 3223) Ph +61 3 5253 1391, fax +61 3 9923
6008, mobile 0417 131 977 niall at scienceinpublic.com, www.scienceinpublic.com

More information about the ASC-media mailing list