[ASC-media] Media alert: Science Academy elects new Corresponding Members

Jacinta Legg jacinta.legg at science.org.au
Fri Apr 13 07:47:24 CEST 2007






Friday 13 April 2007



Science Academy elects new Corresponding Members


Professor Elizabeth Blackburn, University of California San Francisco,
and Professor Michael Powell, University of Cambridge, join a
distinguished group of international scientists who have been elected
Corresponding Members of the Australian Academy of Sciences.


Corresponding Members are eminent scientists residing overseas who have
developed links with scientific institutes in Australia and maintain
strong ties with Australian scientists.


Professor Elizabeth Blackburn is Morris Herzstein Professor of Biology
and Physiology in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the
University of California, San Francisco. Elizabeth has received many
awards and accolades for her discoveries of the roles of telomere
sequences at the end of chromosomes, and of telomerase: research that
has transformed our understanding of how cells age and die. In
recognition of her outstanding contribution to science, Elizabeth
Blackburn received the 2006 Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical
Research, shared with colleagues Carol Greider and Jack Szostak. A month
later she received the 2006 Gruber Genetics Prize for her research and
promotion of science.


Tasmanian born Elizabeth Blackburn maintains robust connections with her
Australian peers. She is the Louis Matheson Distinguished Visiting
Professor of Monash University, and has also retained close links with
the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute in Melbourne as a valued advisor.


Professor Michael Powell is one of the principal figures shaping the
computational revolution that is among the most significant scientific
developments in the second half of the twentieth century. Michael's
research has produced new algorithms, convergence theory, numerical
implementations, and enlightening examples that have advanced every
field of continuous optimisation. Michael Powell's has received numerous
awards for his distinguished contributions, including the Dantzig Prize
of the Mathematical Programming Society and the Senior Whitehead Prize
from the London Mathematical Society.


Michael Powell is a frequent visitor to Australia, having close
associations with Australian researchers who have benefited
significantly from his advice and encouragement. He has been
instrumental in providing postdoctoral opportunities for Australian
graduate students both at AERE Harwell and at Cambridge University.


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.asc.asn.au/pipermail/asc-media/attachments/20070413/9a95f095/attachment.html 

More information about the ASC-media mailing list