[ASC-media] COSMOS editor named 2011 Higher Education Journalist of the Year

Wilson da Silva wfdasilva at gmail.com
Thu Mar 3 09:10:25 CET 2011

*COSMOS editor named 2011 Higher Education Journalist of the Year*

Elizabeth Finkel, a contributing editor of COSMOS magazine, has been named
the Higher Education Journalist of the Year for 2011.

The prestigious national award, which is conducted in conjunction with the
National Press Club in Canberra, was for her story "The trouble with genes",
dealing with the groundbreaking research undertaken by the University of
Queensland’s John Mattick.

National Press Club president and chairman of the judging panel, Laurie
Wilson said, “Elizabeth’s story displayed all the hallmarks of outstanding
journalism – she tackled an extremely complex topic, translated it into
layman’s language and turned into a great story.”

"The trouble with genes" traces John Mattick’s quest to decode genetic
material and translate what was once considered ‘junk DNA’, something which
Finkel says “puts him way ahead of the curve”.

“We know he is leading the scientific world with his ideas and we really
ought to be writing about them,” says Finkel, who herself trained as a
geneticist, “but it is difficult to understand what he has discovered – one
seems to require degrees in both computing and genetics.”

The Higher Education Awards are judged in two categories, each with awards
for print and broadcast. The Journalist of the Year is selected from the
category winners and wins a $10,000 study tour funded by Universities

The two Higher Education prizes make it a total of 44 awards and
commendations won by COSMOS since it was launched in 2005.

The judges were Laurie Wilson, President of the National Press Club; Dr
Matthew Ricketson, author and former journalist who is now professor of
journalism at the University of Canberra; Misha Schubert, National Press
Club Vice-President and political reporter for The Age; and Malcolm Colless,
journalist, media consultant and former director of News Ltd.

Awards were presented by Peter Coaldrake, chairman of Universities Australia
and Vice-Chancellor of Queensland University of Technology.

The full list of winners and commendations appears below:

Category 1: Award for excellence in communicating knowledge of Australia’s
university sector

• *WINNER - PRINT:* John Ross, Campus Review - “Death by a thousand cuts”
• Special commendation - print: Sarah Jane Collins, The Age - “Foreign
students in retreat”
• Special commendation - print: Dinah Arndt, The Examiner - “Trouble at

Category 2: Award for excellence in communicating research and innovation,
teaching and learning, equity and access, social inclusion or Indigenous
education issues

• *WINNER - PRINT:* Elizabeth Finkel, COSMOS magazine - “The trouble with
• Special commendation - print: Bernard Lane, The Australian - “Rudd’s ANU
China centre puts noses out of joint”

• *WINNER - BROADCAST*: Rebecca Baillie ABC TV, 7.30 REPORT - “Indigenous

COSMOS magazine
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.asc.asn.au/pipermail/asc-media/attachments/20110303/53b84b37/attachment.html>

More information about the ASC-media mailing list