Van Tiel, Michael Michaelv at PHM.GOV.AU
Wed Jan 25 06:54:46 CET 2012



The NSW Government today announced the appointment of Professor John
Shine AO as President of the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences Trust
(Powerhouse Museum). 


Minister for Tourism, Major Events and the Arts, George Souris, said
Professor Shine brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the
position at one of our most treasured cultural institutions. 


"In his new role, Professor John Shine will draw on more than three
decades of experience in the scientific field both in Australia and
overseas as well as a series of high level roles in health policy and
the corporate world," Mr Souris said. 


"Professor Shine recently retired as Executive Director of the Garvan
Institute of Medical Research after 21 years in the position. 


"While undertaking post doctoral research at the Department of
Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of California, San
Francisco, he was the first to clone a human hormone gene. 


"In 1984, Professor Shine was appointed President of California
Biotechnology and was Chairman of the National Health and Medical
Research Council between 2003 and 2006. 


"He has served as joint Professor of Molecular Biology and Medicine at
the University of NSW and has been a Director of global, specialty
biopharmaceutical company CSL Limited since 2006. 


"In 1994, Professor John Shine was appointed a Fellow of the Australian
Academy of Sciences and was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in


"He has also served on boards of many organisations including the
Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Research Council. 


"In 2010, Professor Shine was awarded the Prime Minister's Prize for
Science, the nation's highest scientific award. 


"Professor's Shine's appointment is not only a coup for the Powerhouse
Museum, but for the people of NSW. 


"I congratulate Professor Shine on his appointment and wish him well in
his role as custodian of the Powerhouse Museum. I thank former
Powerhouse Museum President Shaughn Morgan for his service. 


"Professor Shine joins new Trustees Robert Cameron, Tim Ebbeck, John
Barbouttis and James Longley and continuing Trustees Professor Shirley
Alexander, Trisha Dixon Burkitt, Helen Sham-Ho and Judith Wheeldon." 


Media contact: Norm Lipson 0467 734 679





This email and attachments are for the use of the intended recipient(s) only and may contain confidential or legally privileged information or material that is copyright of Powerhouse Museum or a third party. If you have received this email in error, please notify the sender immediately and then delete it. If you are not the intended recipient, you must not use, disclose or distribute this e-mail without the author's prior permission. Any views expressed in this message and attachments are those of the individual sender and the Powerhouse Museum accepts no liability for the content of this message.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.asc.asn.au/pipermail/asc-media/attachments/20120125/9f6dcdc8/attachment.html>

More information about the ASC-media mailing list