[ASC-media] A hero of statistics, big ecology, Australia’s quantum computer, and amazing teachers

Niall Byrne niall at scienceinpublic.com.au
Tue Oct 29 23:17:00 PDT 2013

Dear ASCers,

Prime Minister announces the five winners of the 2013 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

This evening, in the Great Hall of Parliament House, Prime Minister Abbott will present his Prizes for Science to five remarkable Australians.
“Australia has a wealth of scientific talent. Our people are full of great ideas. The Federal Government will continue to provide the strong support our scientific community needs so it can get on with finding the next innovation or treatment for disease,” he says in his official release.

The 2013 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science go to:

Terry Speed – Fighting cancer by the numbers

Walter and Eliza Hall Institute in Melbourne

$300,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science

Angela Moles – It’s not a jungle out there: rocking the ecological boat

University of New South Wales in Sydney

$50,000 Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year

Andrea Morello – Quantum computing becomes more than just spin

University of New South Wales in Sydney

$50,000 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year

Sarah Chapman – Using a motor race to fuel interest in science

Townsville State High School

$50,000 Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools

Richard Johnson – A teacher’s laboratory becomes a primary source of inspiration

Rostrata Primary School in Perth

$50,000 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools

For their full citations and the Prime Minister’s official comments, go to: www.industry.gov.au/scienceprizes<http://www.industry.gov.au/scienceprizes>

For high res photos and videos go to our media website: www.scienceinpublic.com.au/prime-ministers-prize<http://www.scienceinpublic.com.au/prime-ministers-prize>

Get the news as it happens from @scienceinpublic and follow the action with #pmprize

For interviews or more information, please get in touch with us:

·         Niall Byrne, 0417 131 977, niall at scienceinpublic.com.au<mailto:niall at scienceinpublic.com.au>

·         Tamzin Byrne, 0432 974 400, tamzin at scienceinpublic.com.au<mailto:tamzin at scienceinpublic.com.au>

·         Toni Stevens, 0401 763 130, toni at scienceinpublic.com.au<mailto:toni at scienceinpublic.com.au>

Kind regards,
Niall Byrne
Creative Director
Science in Public
82 Hudsons Road, (PO Box 2076)
Spotswood VIC 3015
Phone: (03) 9398 1416
Mobile: 0417 131 977
niall at scienceinpublic.com.au<mailto:niall at scienceinpublic.com.au>
Twitter: @scienceinpublic
Web: www.scienceinpublic.com.au<http://www.scienceinpublic.com.au/>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.asc.asn.au/pipermail/asc-media/attachments/20131030/09a9e2d7/attachment.html>

More information about the ASC-media mailing list