[ASC-media] Australia Honours Visionary Innovators - ATSE Clunies Ross Awards

Cathy Reade creade at squirrel.com.au
Wed May 27 14:26:41 PDT 2015


The Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE)

ATSE is an independent body of 800 eminent Australian scientists and

enhancing Australia’s prosperity through technological innovation




Australia Honours Visionary Innovators


Top honours for Australia’s foremost visionaries will be presented later
today (28 May) at a Gala Dinner at Brisbane City Hall. The prestigious ATSE
Clunies Ross Awards, Australia’s premier innovation commercialisation
awards, will be given to a select group of Australia’s pre-eminent
innovators who persisted with their ideas to provide broad economic, social
or environmental benefits. 

The dinner speaker is Professor Brian Schmidt AC FRS FAA, winner of the 2011
Nobel Prize in Physics, who will make an address focused on industry policy.
Other luminaries include The Hon Leeanne Enoch, Queensland Minister for
Science and Innovation; Dr Alan Finkel AO FTSE, ATSE President; Professor
Peter Høj FTSE, VC and President of the University of Queensland; Dr Geoff
Garrett AO, Queensland Chief Scientist, and Professor Peter Andrews AO FTSE,
former Queensland Chief Scientist. 

The select group of 2015 ATSE Clunies Ross Award winners are:

·         Associate Professor Jim Patrick AO FTSE, to be awarded a Lifetime
Achievement Award as one of the original engineers who pioneered the
development of the multichannel cochlear implant. 

·         Dr Cathy Foley PSM FTSE and Mr Keith Leslie, both from CSIRO, who
will receive a joint award for their work in advanced superconducting
technologies that developed a highly sensitive magnetic device, LANDTEM,
that detects ore bodies with extremely weak magnetic fields. It has been
responsible for discovery of ore deposits valued at more than $10 billion
globally, returning over $4 billion to Australia. 

·         Associate Professor Leigh Ward, from the University of Queensland,
who developed a standardised, specific, accurate yet inexpensive tool for
early detection of lymphoedema – progressive swelling of a limb, a
particular concern after cancer treatment. His device, which now has
national and international acceptance, has lead to improving quality of
life, minimising long-term consequences for patients and significantly
reducing treatment costs. 

·         Professor Zhiguo Yuan, from the University of Queensland, who
developed a suite of innovative technologies to revolutionise the science
and practice of integrated urban water management for Australian water
utilities. “Putting science in sewers” has fundamentally changed industry’s
understanding and practice for sewer corrosion and odour management,
generating economic benefits in excess of $400 million.

The ATSE Clunies Ross Awards will be attended by more than 500 eminent
entrepreneurs, decision makers, government officials, researchers, academics
and business leaders. 

Tomorrow (29 May) the winners join 200 students and teachers from across
Queensland in the ‘Wonder of Extreme Science” event at QUT, with hands-on
activities to excite students about studies and careers in science and

Issued by         Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and

Contact            Cathy Reade, Media Liaison, 0413 575 934
creade at squirrel.com.au or

                        Bill Mackey, Deputy CEO/Communications Director ATSE
0418 923 370  bill.mackey at atse.org.au

Website           www.atse.org.au/clunies-ross-award

The ATSE Clunies Ross Awards are made possible through the support of
sponsors and supporters. The 2015 Awards are sponsored by:

Platinum: Bechtel, Queensland Government, Rio Tinto, University of
Newcastle, University of Queensland 

Gold: Monash University, Queensland University of Technology 

Silver: Australian Institute of Marine Science, ANSTO, Brisbane City, CSIRO,
Department of Defence – DSTO,

University of the Sunshine Coast, University of NSW

Supporting: Farrell Family Foundation


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.asc.asn.au/pipermail/asc-media/attachments/20150528/e51d8f80/attachment.html>

More information about the ASC-media mailing list